News:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: NAAFI Club/Aurora Hotel/King Charles Hotel, Brompton Road, Gillingham [i]  (Read 10997 times)

Offline AlanH

• Appreciation 27
I remember the Aurora well. As a taxi driver I used to wait outside for fares any time there was a dance on. This was back in the late 60s early 70s. Had to be wary of who you picked up though so I concentrated my efforts on assisting young ladies to get home safely......
AlanH.

Offline smiffy

• Established Member
  • Appreciation 60
I assume you could buy this postcard on the premises.

Single bookings - 5s.6d. per night per person.
Double bookings - 9s.6d. per night per room up to and including six continuous nights.
7s.6d. per night per room for seven nights or over.
Reduced charges for children.

Offline Leofwine

• Established Member
  • Appreciation 355
  • Today is only yesterday's tomorrow
    • Brompton History Research Group
Another picture of the NAAFI club, from a postcard sent in 1954.

=========
Brompton History Research Group
https://www.facebook.com/groups/1891788967775575/

Offline Leofwine

• Established Member
  • Appreciation 355
A pint??? :) :) :)

There is a reason the song is called "What Shall We Do With The Drunken SAILOR"!!!!

The alcohol ration was originally beer with a daily ration of a gallon (!) of beer per sailor until the 17th century. In 1655, rum replaced beer as the sailor's daily alcohol ration because of the capture of Jamaica from Spain. This change was made because beer would often spoil on long voyages.

Until 1740, the ration of rum was half a pint twice a day before the amount was lowered to a quarter pint. While the ration was originally given neat, or mixed with lime juice, the practice of watering down the rum began around 1740. To help minimize the effect of the alcohol on his sailors, Admiral Edward Vernon had the rum ration watered producing a mixture that became known as grog.