News:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Staples Printers, Love Lane, Rochester  (Read 6071 times)

Offline Rochester-bred

• Appreciation 42
Re: Staples Printers, Love Lane, Rochester
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2012, 14:33:01 »
I know that we all had to put our names inside the cover of all books we had done and the piece of paper was then glued to the hard outer cover so if there was a fault by pulling the sheet off you could see who's initials or signature was on it, I remember doing the WHO's WHO and also the EARLY YEAR BOOK but when the Chelsea flower show was on it was as if we went double the speed to get the catalogues done asap.
Not sure about your tale as it may have happened before I worked there or after but it is true we had to put put our names to show who had done what in the bindery.
***I am still the child within***

Offline Bryn Clinch

• Established Member
  • Appreciation 72
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2012, 09:25:13 »
When I was an apprentice in the printing trade I came into contact with some Staple`s apprentices and heard a tale which I have no idea if it`s true. All printers are/were obliged to put their `imprint` on certain items of work. There was a hefty fine per copy if this was not complied with. The story goes that on a large catalogue for one of the big exhibitions, possibly the `Ideal Home` or `Motor Show`, the imprint was overlooked and Staples sent all the Bindery ladies up to Olympia with printed stickers to put on the catalogues as they were sold at the door.

Offline Rochester-bred

• Appreciation 42
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2011, 08:50:35 »