News:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Snowdown Colliery  (Read 68093 times)

Offline JohnWalker

• Appreciation 55
    • My Portfolio
Re: Snowdown Colliery
« Reply #112 on: April 26, 2016, 18:01:32 »
Coming away from the 'Guess the Place` string. Would this be the winding gear JohnWalker ?

That's very similar to how I remember the winding gear at Chislet Colliery CAT.  I seem to recall that the operator was on a high platform overlooking the gear at Chislet.  The cable fitted into a spiral track on the enormous winding drum.  I believe Chislet might have been deeper than Snowdown but not sure.

JW

Offline DS239

• Appreciation 11
  • "Oh, sod it; the bloody thing’s stuck again"
« Reply #111 on: April 26, 2016, 15:11:50 »
I'm no expert but, from what I understand, mines have to have at least 2 access points, [usually 2 shafts but could be a 2 drifts or one of each]. To maintain a fresh supply of air to the workings one is an 'upcast' where the stale air is drawn up from out of the mine, and the other a 'downcast' where fresh air is drawn in.Underground there are air locks to maintain the air circuit. The fan would have been electrically driven, although in very old mines years ago before efficient fans were invented they'd have a fire at the bottom of a shaft and a chimney at the top of it to draw air up.
CAT's photo shows the upcast shaft headgear with an airlock around the pithead where the tubs were unloaded, this is to stop air entering via this route when the fan alongside is sucking air up out of the pit and blowing it out of the evase at the top of the fanhouse.
Men accessed the pit via the downcast shaft.

As I say, I'm no expert but I've been down 'Big Pit' at Blaenavon and read a couple of books on the subject.

Offline conan

• Established Member
  • Appreciation 74
« Reply #110 on: April 26, 2016, 00:29:53 »
The winding gear in CATs photo seems to be powered by electricity, maybe the fans were run from the same souce.