News: The modern name of Kent is derived from the Brythonic word kantos meaning "rim" or "border", or possibly from a homonymous word kanto "horn, hook"
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Suicide of a Sentinel at Chatham Dockyard - 1841  (Read 4543 times)

Offline Riding With The Angels

• Established Member
  • Appreciation 36
    • Ghost Connections
Re: Suicide of a Sentinel at Chatham Dockyard - 1841
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2009, 21:19:04 »
Certainly not the best way to kill yourself  (IF it really was sucide)

I don't know how hard it would be to shoot yourself in the head with a musket.....could be tricky ???

Not that I am an expert on muskets but I would imagine that held horizontally to the head it would be virtually impossible to reach the trigger with an extended arm whislt trying to support the weight with the other. far easier to use the method described although this lends an image of bending over the weapon and in
which instance how did it pass through the back of his neck?

seafordpete

« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2009, 18:58:59 »

I don't know how hard it would be to shoot yourself in the head with a musket.....could be tricky ???

Not as tricky as trying to explain this one from about 10 years back- a squaddie put his rifle to his stomach and fired, the  round passed through him, missing anything vital and the muzzle flash cauterized the wound!! How can you report that to the MO?

merc

« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2009, 11:42:17 »

Offline kyn

• Administrator
  • Established Member
  • Appreciation 426
    • Sheppey History
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2009, 11:15:29 »
Thats pretty much what went through my head, surely they knew that a shot to the chest was not a guarunteed death?  Or would it have been too difficult to have the gun pointed at something more certain like the head?

Offline sheppey_bottles

• Established Member
  • Appreciation 56
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2009, 09:04:48 »