News: The modern name of Kent is derived from the Brythonic word kantos meaning "rim" or "border", or possibly from a homonymous word kanto "horn, hook"
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: St Mary's, Little Chart  (Read 10264 times)

Christina

Re: St Mary's, Little Chart
« Reply #10 on: September 17, 2014, 14:07:13 »
Hello, I'm new to this site so I hope this works!  Re your question concerning a possible French connection with St Mary's of Little Chart - I may be able to shed some light. We have a medieval Chapel (said to be of Saxon origin) which at that time would have been 'of Little Chart', The Brockhulls, Darells and other members of Calehill are connected. I have an abundance of information as I have been researching for many years so if I can be of any help please let me know.  What in particular are you looking for? A Name? Unfortunately not all my paperwork is in chronological order so it may take a little while before I can respond.

Offline davpott

• Appreciation 47
« Reply #9 on: May 09, 2013, 16:55:49 »
I am trying to find out if there is any French connection with st Mary the virgin church in little chart near pluckley Kent please anything will help me. Thank you.

What sort of connection?

The dedication to St Mary itself points to it having a very early foundation following the Kent King Ethelbert's conversion in 597.

dazwad

« Reply #8 on: May 09, 2013, 16:10:42 »
I am trying to find out if there is any French connection with St Mary the Virgin church in Little Chart near Pluckley, Kent . Please anything will help me. Thank you.

Offline Riding With The Angels

• Established Member
  • Appreciation 29
    • Ghost Connections
« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2011, 23:45:55 »
I'm not suprised John E Vigar, its always closed, grass overgrown and no signs of where to find a key to visit. That doesn't promote visitors or any revenue.

Offline John E Vigar

• Appreciation 7
« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2011, 15:22:29 »